Header Image
Compton College / Guided Pathway Divisions / Fine Arts, Communication, Humanities

Fine arts, communication and humanities

Guided Pathway Division

The Fine Arts, Communication and Humanities Guided Pathway provides coursework designed to prepare students for rewarding careers in fields that employ professional writers, artists, and communication specialists. Students within these fields of study will develop mastery in creative and analytical modes of expression and research, leading to a variety of different career paths in creative industries, education, government, and business.


Compton College is Open!

We're here to help you create your success story!

  • Virtual and in-person enrollment services (counseling, financial aid, registration, support services/resources and programs) are available Monday-Thursday, 8:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Appointments are not required.
  • The Library, Everytable Cafeteria, Bookstore, and Student Health Center are all open to current students. The Student Success Center welcomes walk-ins but appointments are recommended.
  • Classes are available online and in-person. Please refer to the schedule of classes for details.
  • Community members may use the track Monday-Friday, 4:00-9:00 a.m.

Please remember to follow these health and safety protocols:


DEGREES AND CERTIFICATES AVAILABLE

Communication Studies (AAT)

English  (AAT)

English as a Second Language (ESL) - non-credit program

General Studies (AA) with an emphasis in:
Arts & Humanities; Culture & Communications; or Fine & Applied Arts

Music (AA and CERT)

Spanish (AAT)

Studio Arts (AAT)

Transfer Studies (CERT)

OTHER COURSES AVAILABLE: Degree or certificate not available at Compton College.
Academic Strategies, Dance, English as a Second Language, Film/Video, Humanities, Japanese, Journalism, Library Science, Philosophy, Sign Language/Interpreter, Theatre


Click here for the Compton College Course Catalog.

Fine Arts, Communication and Humanities Program Mapper:

Explore the programs and maps designed to help you reach your educational and career goals.


Contact Information

Dr. Rebekah Blonshine
Dean of Student Success
rblonshine@compton.edu
310-900-1600, ext. 2235
L-SSC, Room 103

Dr. Valerie Woodward
Division Chair - FACH
vwoodward@compton.edu
310-900-1600, ext. 2239
TV-31

Marina Hernandez
Senior Administrative Assistant
mhernandez@compton.edu
310-900-1600, ext. 2136
L-SSC, Room 104

Denise Blood
Instructional Division Coordinator
dblood@compton.edu
310-900-1600, ext. 2543
L-SSC, Room 202


Jovany Gaucin
Guided Pathways Counselor
jgaucin@compton.edu

Citlali Gonzalez
Guided Pathways Counselor
cgonzalez@compton.edu

Noemi Monterroso
Guided Pathway Counselor
nmonterroso@compton.edu

Lakeisha Wright
Student Services Advisor
lwright@compton.edu


Fine Arts, Communications & Humanities GPD Staff and Faculty - Click Here


STUDENT SUCCESS PROGRAMS:

  • Student Success Plan Implementation
  • Library
  • Learning Communities
  • Student Success Center
  • Supplemental Instruction
  • Math and Science Center
  • Reading and Writing Center
  • Academic Tutoring
  • Workshops
Back to top