Header Image
Compton College / Administrative Operations and Departments / Campus Police / AIMS

Assessment, Intervention and Management of Safety (AIMS)

A Resource for Student Success and Campus Safety

The Assessment, Intervention, and Management of Safety, is a multidisciplinary campus threat assessment and behavioral intervention team that guides the campus community in effectively assessing and addressing threatening and/or concerning behaviors. AIMS strives to assist the campus in intervening before behaviors reach a critical level.

AIMS does NOT respond directly to emergencies. Call 9-1-1 if you experience an emergency.

The purpose of AIMS include:

  • Conduct threat assessments
  • Coordinate a network of existing resources
  • Focus on prevention and early intervention in situations where students are distressed, disruptive, harmful or threatening to the community.
  • Support and advise individuals who experience concerning or potentially threatening behaviors.
  • Educate and empower constituents through on campus training and consultation to recognize, report, and effectively address aberrant, dangerous, threatening and concerning behaviors.
  • Collect, assess, and track information about behaviors.
  • Plan and implement interventions, follow up and monitor recommendations
  • Provide recommendations to appropriate campus constituents in order to manage situations and behaviors, preferably before they escalate to become threats or acts of violence.
  • Provide guidance and best practices for preventing violence and providing supportive services to the campus community in response to acts of violence.

"If you see or hear something, say something"

Do you have a question or concern about a student or a friend? If so, complete an Incident Report & Referral Form.

Membership

Name Title E-Mail Phone Ext
Marcus Thompson, Co-Chair Interim Chief of Police mthompson@compton.edu (310) 900-1600 x2792
Tina Kuperman, Co-Chair Diversity, Compliance, and Title IX, Director tkuperman@compton.edu (310) 900-1600 x2144
Christine Aldrich EOPS/CARE, Director caldrich@compton.edu (310) 900-1600 x2917
Tania Caraballo St John's Behavioral Health Clinician tcaraballo@wellchild.org (323) 541-1600

Tue & Wed - x3037

Thu - x3205

George Cervantes Police Detective gcervantes@compton.edu (310) 900-1600 x2799
Andree Pacheco Student Development & Athletics, Director apacheco@compton.edu (310) 900-1600 x2800
Gregory Peterson Police Dispatcher/Clerk gpeterson@compton.edu (310) 900-1600 x2790
Stephanie Schlatter Special Resource Center, Director sschlatter@compton.edu (310) 900-1600 x2406


Members are also available on Cranium Cafe

Back to top