Header Image
Compton College / Administrative Operations and Departments / Campus Committees / Professional Learning and Engagement Committee

Professional Learning and Engagement Committee

Statement of Purpose

The Professional Learning and Engagement Committee serves as an advisory capacity for the District. The advisory committee is responsible for making recommendations on staff,student, and instructional improvement activities (title 5, section 55730(e)).
The recommendations are based upon a comprehensive planning process that includes needs assessment and evaluation.
This committee also maintains the guidelines and procedures for funding employee conference and travel requests for the District. Trainings activities will be provided to faculty, classified professionals, and administrators for professional growth and renewal that will lead to a stronger sense of connection among employees and students, greater holistic student success, and institutional effectiveness. This mission supports a campus culture of collaboration that furthers our student-centered college goals.

Meeting Dates and Location

4th Thursday of each month at 1:00 p.m., via Zoom.

Professional Learning and Engagement Committee Membership:

Members E-mail Representation
Pilar Huffman phuffman@compton.edu Management Representatives
Ibrahim Ali iali@compton.edu Management Representatives
Fazal Aasi faasi@compton.edu Faculty Representatives
Hoa Pham htpham@compton.edu Faculty Representatives
Sarah George sgeorge@compton.edu Faculty Representatives
Andree Valdry avaldry@compton.edu Faculty Representatives
Paula VanBrown pvanbrown@compton.edu Confidential Employee Representative
Alice Hawkins ahawkins@compton.edu Staff Assistance

2020-2021 PLEC Committee Self-Evaluation.

 

Back to top