## Student Success Meeting April 7, 2015: Minutes

**Member List:** Carmela Aguilar; Trish Bonacic; Dr. Chelvi Subramaniam; Lauren Gras; Vanessa Haynes; Albert Jimenez; Estina Pratt; Jose Villalobos; Maria Estrada; Barbara Perez; Shateo Griffin; Richette Bell; and Miguel Ornelas

**Members Present:** Trish Bonacic; Dr. Chelvi Subramaniam; Lauren Gras; Vanessa Haynes; Albert Jimenez; Maria Estrada; Shateo Griffin; Richette Bell; Miguel Ornelas

**Objective:** Meet with representatives from the SEP (Equity) and SSSP (Services) along with Student Success Committee to discuss finalization of the SSP (student success plan). Finalize plan so it can be moved to Senate and Consultative Council.

- Discussed the role of SSC (Student Success Committee) as an umbrella to the SEP and SSSP committees
- Discussed funding from SEP and SSSP in terms of how it can be used to reach the objectives in the SSP to avoid duplication.
- Maria Estrada asked about possible funds available for faculty training in learning communities. Dr. Subramaniam noted that if faculty training is a highlighted objective with SEP or SSSP then training could be offered and funded as professional development.
- Committee members stressed concern about CTE's lack of involvement and representation in the Student Success Committee.
- Dr. Subramaniam discussed Dr. Murry's updates on the CTE portion of the SSP.
- Committee members decided that all acronyms be removed from official document to avoid confusion with those individuals who are not aware of their meaning
- Committee discussed early alert to assist students in improving the skills necessary to ensure success in particular classes.
- Dr. Subramaniam reminded all committee members to complete the state mandated training on identifying abuse.
- SSP 2.4 change date to reflect that it is not yet implemented. It should read "currently in consideration for piloted groups". Timeline should change to Fall 15.
- SSP 2.1 Math academy should be updated to "Summer Math Academy to provide math review before taking the placement test".
- New members: Shateo Griffin, Richette Bell, and Miguel Ornelas will be added to email distribution list.
- Next meeting is scheduled on April 28,2015 from 1-2 in D-40.