Accreditation Steering Committee Minutes

October 12, 2011, 2:00pm-3:30pm.

Attendees: Francisco Arce, Keith Curry, Jo Ann Higdon, Jeanie Nishime, Michael Odanaka, Saul Panski, Barb Perez, Rachelle Sasser, David Vakil, Pieter Van Niel. Notetaker: David Vakil.

Handouts:

- Minutes from September 14, 2011
- Draft grid summarizing 21 eligibility criteria and current status
 - Separate page for subcommittee IV
- Report summarizing all subcommittee findings
 - Separate pages for subcommittees I and IV
- Subcommittee I updated language for the next draft of eligibility report

Action items and highlights

- 1. Minutes for September 14, 2011 were approved.
- 2. Public forum rescheduled to Thursday, October 27, 2011 from 1-2pm in the Student Lounge. A rehearsal will occur on the same day at 8:30am.
- 3. For the public forum, speakers were chosen and introductory comments were outlined.
- 4. A press release and listserv emails will advertise the public forum.
- 5. Boards of Trustees from both districts will receive invitations to the public forum.
- 6. Next meeting scheduled for Wednesday, November 9 beginning at 2:30pm.

Additional Minutes from the meeting follow below.

Subcommittee Reports and Grids

The subcommittee reports and grids were reviewed. Minor modifications were made. A final version, based on the feedback during the meeting, will be sent by David Vakil to Barb Perez and Francisco Arce by the end of the week.

Public Forum

The plan to address the Administrative Capacity transitions that must occur from ECC to the Center when it becomes a college will not be discussed in detail at the forum.

Due to numerous time conflicts from ASC members, the public forum was rescheduled to Thursday, October 27. Dr. Curry's office will schedule the room and a calendar event to all members. A rehearsal will occur on the same day at 8:30am. Supervisors will be encouraged to allow participation from staff members.

Dr. Arce, the Accreditation Liaison Officer, will serve as the moderator for the forum. He will make opening remarks and introduce the ASC co-chairs. The co-chairs will describe the general process and will discuss the need to focus on tasks and benchmarks rather than specific times or timelines. They will also review the general steps of accreditation, including the last step where the future Compton College is transferred from ECCD to CCCD. Then each subcommittee will present a summary of its findings. Finally, Special Trustee Tom Henry will conclude and reiterate the final steps where Compton College is transferred from the El Camino Community College District to the Compton Community College District. The audience will then have an opportunity to ask questions. David Vakil will prepare a PowerPoint presentation to accompany the presentation.

Subcommittee presenters are: 1) Keith Curry, Rachelle Sasser; 2) Saul Panski, Susan Dever; 3) Jeanie Nishime, Trish Bonacic; 4) Jo Ann Higdon, Keith Curry; 5) Barb Perez, Pieter Van Niel.

Advertising to the community will occur through a press release. Emails will be sent to the ECC and Center employee groups. Boards of Trustees from both districts will receive invitations.

The committee concluded by discussing the 5 areas where the subcommittees felt the criteria were not met. The ASC decided the Compton Center does currently meet the Administrative Capacity requirement when accredited as a college in the El Camino Community College District, but not as a college of the Compton Community College District. A transition plan will need to be developed to meet this higher standard, which is not required by ACCJC for initial accreditation in the ECCD. Regarding the financial criteria, the committee decided to delete references to noncompliance with the 50% law since that is not part of the accreditation requirements. It was noted that ACCJC may ask for five years of audits; in 2006-2007, the audit report included a "going concern opinion" which could raise red flags for an accreditation visiting team.

The next meeting is scheduled for November 9, 2011 beginning at 2:30pm, not the normal 2pm starting time. The agenda will be to debrief from the public forum.