



Academic Senate Agenda

Facilitator: Dr. Minodora Moldoveanu, PresidentReDate: February 25th, 2020Time: 12:30-2:00 p.m.

Recorder: Jennifer Hill, Secretary Location: Zoom Conference

https://cccconfer.zoom.us/j/96789908627

Vision:

Compton College will be the leading institution of student learning and success in higher education.

Mission Statement:

Compton College is a welcoming and inclusive community where diverse students are supported to pursue and attain student success. Compton College provides solutions to challenges, utilizes the latest techniques for preparing the workforce and provides clear pathways for completion of programs of study, transition to a university, and securing living-wage employment.

Senators	Maruri, Carlos	Sidhu, Rajinder
Barragan-Echeverria, Theresa	Maruyama, David	Skorka, Evan
Crozier, Judith	McPatchell, David	Valdry, Andree
Ekimyan, Roza	Mills, Jesse	Van Overbeck, Michael
Estrada, Harvey	Moldoveanu, Minodora	Villalobos, Jose
Gonzalez, Citlali	Moore, Sean	Guests
Hill, Jennifer	Morales, Janette	Berger, Sheri (VP Ac. Aff.)
Kahn, Mahbub	Phillips, Jasmine	Gillis, Amber (Past Pres.)
Mason, Don	Richardson, Pamela	Johnson, Susan (DE Chair)
Martinez, Jose Manuel	Schumacher, Holly	
Martinez, Victoria	Schwitkis, Kent	

1

2

Agenda

(Public comment will be allowed on each agenda item).

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Approval of Agenda
- 3. Review and Approval of Minutes from December 3rd, 2020
- 4. Reports
 - a. President's Report
 - b. ASB President's Report
 - c. Vice President's Report
 - d. Faculty Board Representative Report
 - e. Academic Affairs Report
 - f. Curriculum Report
 - g. Distance Education Report
 - h. Faculty Development Report
- 5. Unfinished Business
- 6. Consent Items
- 7. New Business
 - a. First Read: Pass/No Pass Notation.
 - b. First Read: DE Substantive Change
 - c. First Read: UC Ethnic Studies Compton College Summer Teaching Institute Proposal
 - d. First Read: UC Canvas Certification Workshop Proposal

8. Discussion Items

9. Informational Items

- a. New Hires
 - i. Full-time
 - 1. Jared Gordon Film
 - 2. Nathan Lopez History
 - 3. Schetema Nealy Chemistry
 - ii. Adjuncts
 - 1. Stefani Baez Fine Arts
 - 2. Shireetha Gethers Child Development
 - 3. Ingrid Greene Communication Studies
 - 4. Sophia Johnson Nursing
 - 5. Saul Alcaraz-Munoz Auto-Colision
 - 6. Suzy Woltmann Journalism

10. Future Agenda Items

- a. OER Plan
- 11. Adjournment

Next Scheduled Meeting: March 4th, 2021, at 12:30 pm Zoom Link: <u>https://cccconfer.zoom.us/j/98908688652</u>

3

COMPTON COLLEGE ACADEMIC SENATE MEETING DATES AND LOCATIONS (1st & 3rd Thursday)

FALL 2020	LOCATION	SPRING 2021	LOCATION
September 3	zoom	February 25	zoom
September 17	zoom	March 4	zoom
October 1	zoom	March 18	zoom
October 15	zoom	April 1	zoom
October 29	zoom	April 22	zoom
November 19	zoom	May 6	zoom
December 3	zoom	May 20	zoom
		June 3	zoom

Per the *Brown Act*, all votes must be recorded by name. Only Nos and Abstentions will be recorded by name in the minutes. If a senator was signed in to the meeting and did not vote No/Abstain, their vote will be assumed to be a Yes.

CCC Academic Senate Roster 2020-2021 (26 Senators)

Officers:

President/Chairperson	Minodora Moldoveanu (20-22)
Vice President/Vice Chairperson	Carlos Maruri (20-21)
Secretary/Secretary	Jennifer Hill (20-21)
Curriculum/Curriculum Representative	Sean Moore (20-22)
Adjunct Representative	Mahbub Khan (20-21)
Board Representative	Jasmine Phillips
Distance Education Representative	Susan Johnson (20-22)

Members:

Fine Arts, Communication and Humanities (5)

Andree Valdry (20-21) Judith Crozier (20-23) Harvey Estrada (20-23) Jennifer Hill (20-23) David Maruyama (20-23)

Counseling (5)

Holly Schumacher (20-21) Carlos Maruri (20-21) Theresa Barragan-Echeverria (20-23) Citlali Gonzales (20-23) Janette Morales (20-23)

Social Sciences (3)

Jesse Mills (20-21) Vacant (20-23) David McPatchell (20-23)

Business and Industrial Studies (3)

Pamela Richardson (20-21) Sean Moore (20-23) Michael Van Overbeck (20-23)

Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (5)

Kent Schwitkis (20-23) Jose Villalobos (20-23) Jose Manuel Martinez (20-23) Rajinder Sidhu (20-23) Evan Skorka (20-23)

Health and Public Services (3)

Don Mason (20-21) Roza Ekimyan (20-23) Jasmine Phillips (20-23)

Adjunct Faculty (2)

Mahbub Kahn (20-21) Victoria Martinez (20-23)