Header Image
Compton College / Guided Pathway Divisions / Health and Public Services

health & public services

Guided Pathway Division

The Health & Public Services Guided Pathway includes programs for students who are interested in careers dedicated to the well-being and in the service of others. Students will thrive in their field with knowledge of assessments, procedures, and human relations. Majors in this field will put students on a path to enter a career in healthcare, wellness, or the criminal justice system.


Please note:

  • Compton College  is closed to the public until further notice. Only essential personnel are allowed on campus, as scheduled.
  • Student support services will remain online. The on-campus Student Health Center is open by appointment only.
  • Classes will remain online for Winter 2021 and Spring 2021. There will be limited in-person labs on campus.
  • Visit the Compton College COVID-19 webpage for more information.


Degrees and Certificates Available

Administration of Justice (AST and CERT)

General Studies (AA) with an emphasis in Kinesiology & Wellness

Nursing (AS)
Upward Mobility Option (AS)

Physical Education
Kinesiology (AAT), Fitness Trainer (CERT)

OTHER COURSES AVAILABLE: Degree or certificate not available at Compton College.
Contemporary Health, Fire & Emergency Technology, First Aid, Human Development, Medical Terminology


Click here for the Compton College Course Catalog.

Major Preparation Worksheets are available for all of the degrees and certificates listed above.


Contact Information

Dr. Abiodun Osanyinpeju
Dean of Student Learning
aosanyinpeju@compton.edu
310-900-1600, ext.2727
Allied Health Building, Room 110

Dr. Shirley Thomas
Interim Associate Dean/Director of Nursing
sthomas@compton.edu
310-900-1600, ext. 2702
Allied Health Building, Room 113

Linda Garcia
Senior Administrative Assistant                                                                                                                                                 lgarcia15@compton.edu
310-900-1600, ext. 2701
Allied Health Building, Room 110

Cristian Markovich (He, Him, El)
Instructional Division Coordinator
STEM / Health and Public Cervices
cmarkovich@compton.edu
310-9001600, ext. 2726


Theresa Barragan-Echeverria
Guided Pathways Counselor
tbarragan@compton.edu

Eckko Blake
Guided Pathways Counselor
eblake@compton.edu

Dr. Essie French Preston
Guided Pathways Counselor
epreston@compton.edu

Shay Brown
Guided Pathways Counselor
sbrown@compton.edu

Chabree Thompson
Student Services Advisor
cthompson@compton.edu


Health & Public Services GPD Staff - Click Here

Back to top