Header Image
Compton College / Guided Pathway Divisions / Fine Arts, Communication, Humanities

Fine arts, communication and humanities

Guided Pathway Division

The Fine Arts, Communication and Humanities Guided Pathway provides coursework designed to prepare students for rewarding careers in fields that employ professional writers, artists, and communication specialists. Students within these fields of study will develop mastery in creative and analytical modes of expression and research, leading to a variety of different career paths in creative industries, education, government, and business.


Please note:

  • Compton College  is closed to the public until further notice. Only essential personnel are allowed on campus, as scheduled.
  • Student support services will remain online. The on-campus Student Health Center is open by appointment only.
  • The majority of classes will remain online for Spring 2021, Summer 2021 and Fall 2021. There will be limited in-person labs and classes on campus.
  • Visit the Compton College COVID-19 webpage for more information.


DEGREES AND CERTIFICATES AVAILABLE

Communication Studies (AAT)

English  (AAT)

English as a Second Language (ESL) - non-credit program

General Studies (AA) with an emphasis in:
Arts & Humanities; Culture & Communications; or Fine & Applied Arts

Music (AA and CERT)

Spanish (AAT)

Studio Arts (AAT)

Transfer Studies (CERT)

OTHER COURSES AVAILABLE: Degree or certificate not available at Compton College.
Academic Strategies, Dance, English as a Second Language, Film/Video, Humanities, Japanese, Journalism, Library Science, Philosophy, Sign Language/Interpreter, Theatre


Course Catalog (webpage)

Major Preparation Work Sheets (Counseling webpage)


Contact Information

Dr. Rebekah Blonshine
Dean of Student Success
rblonshine@compton.edu
310-900-1600, ext. 2235
L-SSC, Room 103

Dr. Valerie Woodward
Division Chair - FACH
vwoodward@compton.edu
310-900-1600, ext. 2239
TV-31

Marina Hernandez
Senior Administrative Assistant
mhernandez@compton.edu
310-900-1600, ext. 2136
L-SSC, Room 104

Denise Blood
Instructional Division Coordinator
dblood@compton.edu
310-900-1600, ext. 2543
L-SSC, Room 202


Jovany Gaucin
Guided Pathways Counselor
jgaucin@compton.edu

Citlali Gonzalez
Guided Pathways Counselor
cgonzalez@compton.edu

Noemi Monterroso
Guided Pathway Counselor
nmonterroso@compton.edu

Lakeisha Wright
Student Services Advisor
lwright@compton.edu


Fine Arts, Communications & Humanities GPD Staff - Click Here


STUDENT SUCCESS PROGRAMS:

  • Student Success Plan Implementation
  • Library
  • Learning Communities
  • Student Success Center
  • Supplemental Instruction
  • Math and Science Center
  • Reading and Writing Center
  • Academic Tutoring
  • Workshops
Back to top