Compton College Parking Permits
Students may purchase parking permits online via MyCompton . The cost is $20.
Once your order is received, you should receive your permit in the mail in 5 to 10 days. You can print a temporary permit that is valid for 10 days from the date of purchase. Be sure to print the temporary permit and display it in your vehicle until your semester parking permit arrives. When you receive your semester parking permit, please be sure it is visible when parked on campus.
Parking Grace Period
A one-week grace period for parking (in student lots only) will be provided for the winter and summer terms, and two weeks for the spring and fall semesters, for students to purchase a parking permit.
No citations will be issued for vehicles properly parked in marked student spaces during this period; all other parking violations will be enforced. Vehicles illegally parked in staff, disabled, no parking, or other restricted areas are subject to citation at all times.
2020 Parking Grace Periods are as follows:
Monday, January 6 - Sunday, January 12, 2020
Parking citations will be issued to vehicles failing to display a valid student parking permit beginning Monday, January 13, 2020.
Tuesday, February 18 - Monday, March 2, 2020
Parking citations will be issued beginning Tuesday, March 3, 2020.
Monday, June 22 - Sunday, June 28, 2020
Saturday, August 22 - Friday, September 4, 2020
A Compton College parking permit is required on any vehicle parked on any part of the campus year-round.
Semester parking permits are self-adhesive and should be attached to the inside lower-left corner of the windshield. Decal hangers are not recommended. However, if you choose to use one you must ensure the permit is visible at all times. Decals may not be sold, exchanged, given away, duplicated or purchased from any person or agency other than Compton College or Credential Solutions. Any vehicle displaying a lost, stolen or altered decal is subject to citation and/or impoundment.
The Compton College Police Department is in charge of the personal safety and security of all students, employees and visitors of Compton College. The Vehicle Code Laws of the State of California, the ordinances of Los Angeles County and the Traffic and Parking Regulations of the Compton Community College District are in effect 24 hours per day, seven days per week and are enforced by the Compton College Police Department pursuant to section 21113 (a) (c) (f) of the California Vehicle Code.
Anyone parking in district parking lots is required to display a valid Compton College parking permit in his/her vehicle.
Parking regulations are enforced seven days per week, 24 hours a day throughout the year, including weekends and holidays, unless otherwise specified. Vehicles parking in staff parking areas must display a valid Compton College staff parking permit. Students/visitors and the general public may park in staff parking areas on weekends and holidays with a valid Compton College student semester permit or daily parking permit. Parking availability is subject to change, and lots may be closed or restricted for special events.
Traffic and Parking Regulations
Traffic and parking regulations are posted throughout Compton College. Compton College Police will issue municipal court citations to violators of these regulations. Parking violations are a minimum of $38.
The Compton Community College District shall not be liable for the loss or damage caused to any vehicle parked in a district parking lot. View parking regulations here.
The basic speed limit is 15 mph in all posted areas. All provisions of the California Vehicle Code and the Traffic Rules of the Compton Community College District are strictly enforced. Police officers may issue superior court citations to violators of these regulations.
If you have lost property at Compton College, please stop by the Police Department office Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Lost property not claimed within 90 days is disposed of in accordance with district policy.
You may reach the police department in an emergency situation by dialing 9-1-1 from any pay telephone at Compton College or by dialing 310-900-1600, ext. 2999 from a cellular telephone.
First aid, as well as help in all emergency situations, is provided through the police department.
The use of skateboards, Razors, scooters, roller skates and bicycles is not permitted on campus. It is a violation of California Vehicle Code section 21113(F) to operate those items on campus.
Disabled Persons Parking
Students/visitors with disabilities who have been issued a DMV Disabled Person (DP) placard may park in any designated disabled person stall. Disabled persons may park in faculty/staff/ student space and MUST DISPLAY the DMV disabled person placard/plates AND a valid Compton College semester or daily parking permit when parked. Failure to display the DP placard and a valid Compton College permit (when parked in faculty/staff/student space) will result in the issuance of a citation. See California Code of Regulations - Title 5, Section 54100; Ed Code 67301(a). Temporary medical parking arrangements can be made at Campus Police located in V-72.
Daily Permit Parking Pay Stations
Compton College's Daily Permit Parking Pay Stations make paying for parking more convenient than ever. The four automated stations are located near the Administration and Math/Science buildings and parking lots F and H. Daily permits are $3.00 each.
To view the Campus Map and location of the Daily Permit Parking Stations, please click here.