• MyCompton
  • Apply Online
Header Image
Compton College / Administrative Operations and Departments / Campus Committees / Academic Senate

Academic Senate

Statement of Purpose:

The Academic Senate is organized under the provisions of the California Code of Regulations, Title 5, shall represent the faculty and make recommendations to the administration and to the Board with respect to academic and professional matters, so long as the exercise of such functions does not conflict with the lawful collective bargaining agreement.

Current Goals:

The Academic Senate's annual goals reflect a commitment to "an effective process of collaboration and collegial consultation conducted with integrity and respect to inform and strengthen decision-making" (Strategic Initiative C).

  1. Establish a diverse representation on all campus.
  2. Establish an orientation for Academic Senate.
  3. Increase communication between Senators and their constituents through increased email contact and regular reporting out during Division.
  4. Increase faculty attendance and involvement at Academic Senate.
  5. Assist in the growth of faculty professional development activities on campus.
  6. Support and assist in the structure and implementation of AB288: Public schools: College and Career Access Pathways Partnership Agreements with local highs.
  7. Support Strong Workforce efforts on campus.
  8. Increase transparency and communication between faculty and administration.

 

Meeting Dates and Location:

1st & 3rd Thursday of every month.

Fall 2019   Spring 2020  
September 5 Board Room February 20 Board Room
September 19
Board Room March 5 Board Room
October 3 Board Room March 19 Board Room
October 17 Board Room April 2 Board Room
November 7 Board Room April 16 Board Room
November 21
Board Room May 7 Board Room
December 5 Board Room May 21 Board Room
    June 4 Board Room

 


Academic Senate Committee Membership:

Members E-mail Representation
Amber Gillis agillis@compton.edu Chairperson
Jesse Mills jmills@compton.edu Vice Chairperson
Nikki Williams nwilliams@elcamino.edu Secretary
Sean Moore smoore@compton.edu Curriculum Representative
Mahbub Khan mkhan@compton.edu Adjunct Representative
Jerome Evans jevans@compton.edu Board Representative
Brent Kooiman bkooiman@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Pamela Richardson prichardson@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Shirley Thomas sthomas@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Hoa Pham htpham@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Minodora Moldoveanu mmoldoveanu@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Harvey Estrada hestrada@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Malinni Roeun mroeun@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Jose Villalobos jvillalobos@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Kent Schwitkis kschwitkis@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Rajinder Sidhu rsidhu@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Andree Valdry avaldry@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Carlos Maruri cmaruri@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Holly Schumacher hschumacher@compton.edu Faculty Representative
Paul M. Flor  pflor@compton.edu Past Chairperson

 

Academic Senate Committee Meeting Agenda & Minutes

 

 

Back to top