Header Image
Compton College / Academic Programs / Distance Education / Course Information

Distance Education 

(online and Hybrid Courses)

Many of the distance education courses will have a first class meeting on campus.  Some courses are offered entirely online and do not have meetings on campus. Hybrid courses include both online instruction and required on-campus class meetings.

The instructors at Compton College use the course management system 'CANVAS' via the internet. The online courses are available on the start date of the class. A student must login and read the first announcement.  The announcement will contain instructions that includes what needs to be completed to avoid being dropped from the class.  Instructors teaching hybrid courses use the same system; however, students must attend the first day of class as scheduled and meetings thereafter.

 Register Online image  DE Courses are accessed on the Course Management System called  Canvas via the Internet.  (You must be officially registered in a DE course or you will not see the course tab in  CANVAS)  A new Canvas link for Compton College is now available. The url is: compton.instructure.com  You may login to your MyCompton account and click on the Canvas icon.

Click this link to access the Compton College Canvas Login Instructions document.


spring 2020 Online and hybrid courses


 

 SPRING 2020 COURSES


Academic Strategies 60, Strategies for Success in Distance Education (Six-week Course) This course is highly recommended for students enrolling or enrolled in online or hybrid courses. 

AS 60, Strategies for Success in Distance Education, #30331
V. Woodward, vwoodward@compton.edu (2nd 8-weeks, April 18 to June 12) 


Administration of Justice 

AJ 103, Concepts of Criminal Law I - #30540
D. Mason, dmason@compton.edu 

AJ 150, Intro. to Homeland Security - #30555
D. Mason, dmason@compton.edu  (1st 8-weeks, February 12 to April 10)

Anthropology 

ANTH 101, Introduction to Physical Anthropology - #30064
A. Vigil, avigil@compton.edu 

ANTH 102Introduction to Cultural Anthropology - #30065
A. Vigil, avigil@compton.edu 

Art 

ART 101, Art/Visual Culture in Modern Life - #30323
Instructor:  J. Thayer, jthayer@compton.edu 

ART 101, Art/Visual Culture in Modern Life - #30324
A. Lezo, alezo@compton.edu 

Astronomy

ASTR 120The Solar System - #30179
K. Schwitkis, kschwitkis@compton.edu 

Biology

BIOL 115, Environmental Aspects of Biology, #30199
D. Khalid, dkhalid@compton.edu 

Child Development 

CDEV 103, Child Growth and Development - #30067
S. Gethers, sgethers@compton.edu 

CDEV 104, The Home, The School and The Community - #30070
C. Washington, cwashington@compton.edu   

CDEV 114, Observing and Assessing Young Children - #30076
C. Washington, cwashington@compton.edu   

CDEV 129, Intro. to Program Administration - #30098
G. Hayes, ghayes@compton.edu   (2nd 8-weeks, April 18 to June 12) 

Contemporary Health 

CH 101, Personal and Community Health Issues - #30558
K. Rosario, krosario@compton.edu 

Economics 

ECON 102, Principles of Economics, Microeconomics Theory - # 30105
M. Keskinel, mkeskinel@compton.edu  

English 

ENGL 101, Reading and Composition - #30151
N. Williams, niwilliams@compton.edu 

ENGL 101, Reading and Composition - #30152

J. Crozier, jcrozier@compton.edu 

ENGL 101, Reading and Composition - #30153
S. George, sgeorge@compton.edu  

ENGL 101, Reading and Composition - #30154
A. Gillis, agillis@compton.edu     

ENGL 102, Literature and Composition - #30226
D. Maruyama, dmaruyama@compton.edu 

ENGL 103Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition - #30240
J. HIll, jhill@compton.edu 

ENGL 103Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition - #30241
S. Johnson, sjohnson@compton.edu  

ENGL 103
Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition - #30243
J. HIll, jhill@compton.edu 

ENGL 103Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition - #30244
S. George, sgeorge@compton.edu 

Geology 

GEOL 101 Physical Geology -  #30344
M. Okbamichael, mokbamichael@compton.edu 

History 

HIST 101, United States History to 1877 - #30273
W. Vanbenschoten, wvanbenschoten@compton.edu  

HIST 101, United States History to 1877 - #30274
K. Radcliffe, kradcliffe@compton.edu (1st 8-weeks, February 12 to April 10)  

HIST 102, U.S.  History, 1877 to the Present - #30287
D. Black, dblack@compton.edu

HIST 102, U.S. History, 1877 to the Present - #30289
K. Radcliffe, kradcliffe@compton.edu (2nd 8-weeks, April 18 to June 12)

Human Development 

HDEV 110, Strategies for Creating Success- #30526
R. Ekimyan, rekimyan@compton.edu (2nd 8-weeks, April 18 to June 12) 

HDEV 110, Strategies for Creating Success- #30527
R. Ekimyan, rekimyan@compton.edu (2nd 8-weeks, April 18 to June 12) 


HDEV 110, Strategies for Creating Success- #30528

J. Phillips, jphillips@compton.edu (1st 8-weeks, February 12 to April 10)    

HDEV 110, Strategies for Creating Success- #30529
J. Phillips, jphillips@compton.edu    (1st 8-weeks, February 12 to April 10)     

Humanities 

HUMA 101Introduction to the Humanities - #30387
A. Gillis, agillis@compton.edu  

Mathematics

MATH 73, Intermediate Algebra for General Education - #30615
M. Roeun, mroeun@compton.edu  

MATH 73, Intermediate Algebra for General Education - #30019
J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@compton.edu  

Music 

MUSI 111, Music Appreciation Survey - #30603
M. Uch, much@compton.edu 

Nutrition 

NFOO 110, Nutrition - #30536
J. Gray, jgray@compton.edu (2nd 8-weeks, April 18 to June 12) 

Philosophy

PHIL 103, Ethics and Society - #30406
E. Sedgewick, esedgwick@compton.edu

Physical Education 

PE 277, Introduction to Kinesiology/Physical Ed. - #30608
T. Hazell, thazell@compton.edu 

Political Science 

POLI 101, Governments of the U.S. and CA - # 30307
S. Gonzales, sgonzales@compton.edu  
 
POLI 101, Governments of the U.S. and CA, - #30308
E. Walker, ewalker@compton.edu 

POLI 101, Governments of the U.S. and CA, - #30309
S. Gonzales, sgonzales@compton.edu 

POLI 110, An Intro. to International Relations - #30312
V. Chaney, vchaney@compton.edu 

Psychology 

PSYC 116, Lifespan Development - #30401
D. McPatchell, dmcpatchell@compton.edu

PSYC 116, Lifespan Development - #30403
D. McPatchell, dmcpatchell@compton.edu 

PSYC 115, Abnormal Psychology - #30393
B. Conn, bconn@compton.edu

PSYC 101, General Psychology - #30370
F. Moshrefi, fmoshrefi@compton.edu 

PSYC 101, General Psychology - #30372
B. Conn, bconn@compton.edu 

Sociology 

SOCI 101Introduction to Sociology - #30518
N. Williams, niwilliams@compton.edu 

SOCI 101, Introduction to Sociology - #30419
S. Eaves, seaves@compton.edu  

SOCI 102, The Family - #30415
C. Diaz, cdiaz@compton.edu 

SOCI 104, Social Problems- #30420
C. Diaz, cdiaz@compton.edu 

 

HYBRID COURSES

Biology

BIOL 100, Fundamentals of Biology, #30191
K. Marsh, kmarsh@compton.edu
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 1:00 to 4:10pm on Mondays.  You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, February 24, 2020 in room MS108 or you may be dropped from the course.

BIOL 100, Fundamentals of Biology, #30192
K. Marsh, kmarsh@compton.edu
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 9:00 to 12:10pm on Monday.  You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, February 24, 2020 in room MS108 or you may be dropped from the course.

Computer Information System

CIS 113, Introduction to Computer Information System, #30467
A. Yahye, ayahye@compton.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 9:00 to 11:05am on Mondays.  You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, February 24, 2020 or you may be dropped from the course.

CIS 113, Introduction to Computer Information System, #30468
A. Yahye, ayahye@compton.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 9:00 to 10:35am on Tuesdays.  You must attend the first class meeting on Tuesday, February 18, 2020 in room VT124 or you may be dropped from the course. 

Mathematics

MATH 150, Elementary Statistics with Probability, #30060
J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@compton.edu
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 9:00 to 10:50pm on Saturdays.  You must attend the first class meeting on Saturday, February 22, 2020 in room MS210 or you may be dropped from the course.

MATH 150, Elementary Statistics with Probability, #30061
J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@compton.edu
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 11:00 to 12:50pm on Wednesdays.  You must attend the first class meeting on Wednesday, February 19, 2020 in room MS210 or you may be dropped from the course.

MATH 150, Elementary Statistics with Probability, #30062
M. Roeun, mroeun@compton.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 3:00 to 5:05 pm on Mondays.  You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, February 24, 2020 in room MS 212 or you may be dropped from the course.

MATH 73, Intermediate Algebra for General Education, #30022
G. Manikandan, gmanikandan@compton.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 5:15 to 7:25pm on Mondays.  You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, February 24, 2020 in room MS206 or you may be dropped from the course.

MATH 80, Intermediate Algebra for Science, Technology and Engineering, #30033
M. Tavakkoli, mtavakkoli@compton.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 09:00 to 11:00am on Saturdays.  You must attend the first class meeting on Saturday, February 22, 2010 in room MS202 or you may be dropped from the course.


Real Estate

RE 111, Real Estate Principles - #30487
J. Yeressian, jyeressian@compton.edu  
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 9:00 to 10:15am on Saturdays.  You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, February 22, 2020 in room VT128 or you may be dropped from the course.

 

  RESOURCES:

  Student Handbook for Distance Education Courses

   Searchable Class Schedule

  Online Bookstore

Deans and Division Chair's Form

 CANVAS

  Compton College Canvas Login Instructions

 

CONTACT INFORMATION

Accreditation (ACCJC)

Vocational Technology Building, Office 138
310-900-1600, ext. 2137
If you have a questions, please email us at distance_ed@compton.edu  


Jasmine Phillips
Distance Education Faculty Coordinator
310-900-1600, ext. 2555
jphillips@compton.edu 

Back to top