• MyCompton
  • Apply Online
Header Image
Compton College / Academic Programs / Distance Education / Course Information

Distance Education 

(online and Hybrid Courses)

Many of the distance education courses will have a first class meeting on campus.  Some courses are offered entirely online and do not have meetings on campus. Hybrid courses include both online instruction and required on-campus class meetings.

The instructors at Compton College use the course management system 'CANVAS' via the internet. The online courses are available on the start date of the class. A student must login and read the first announcement.  The announcement will contain instructions that includes what needs to be completed to avoid being dropped from the class.  Instructors teaching hybrid courses use the same system; however, students must attend the first day of class as scheduled and meetings thereafter.

 Register Online image  DE Courses are accessed on the Course Management System called  Canvas via the Internet.  (You must be officially registered in a DE course or you will not see the course tab in  CANVAS)  A new Canvas link for Compton College is now available. The url is: compton.instructure.com  You may login to your MyCompton account and click on the Canvas icon.

Click this link to access the Compton College Canvas Login Instructions document.


Fall 2019 Distance Education Courses


Academic Strategies 60, Strategies for Success in Distance Education (Six-week Course)
This course is highly recommended for students enrolling or enrolled in online or hybrid courses. 

AS 60, Strategies for Success in Distance Education, #70645
To be announced

AS 60, Strategies for Success in Distance Education, #70646
To be announced

AS 60, Strategies for Success in Distance Education, #70647
J. Crozier, jcrozier@compton.edu 


Administration of Justice 

AJ 100, Introduction to Administration of Justice - #70726
D. Mason, dmason@compton.edu 

A 111,  Criminal Investigations- #70481
J. Sandoz, jsandoz@compton.edu  

AJ 170, Constitutional Law for Criminal Justice - #70726
D. Mason, dmason@compton.edu 

Anthropology 
ANTH 101, Introduction to Physical Anthropology - #70704
To be announced

ANTH 102Introduction to Cultural Anthropology - #70705
To be announced  

Art 

ART 101, Art/Visual Culture in Modern Life - #70197
Instructor:  J. Thayer, jthayer@compton.edu 

ART 101, Art/Visual Culture in Modern Life - #70199
A. Lezo, alezo@compton.edu 

Astronomy

ASTR 120The Solar System - #70625
K. Schwitkis, kschwitkis@compton.edu 

Biology

BIOL 115, Environmental Aspects of Biology, #70624
D. Khalid, dkhalid@compton.edu 

Business

BUS 121, Human Resources Management - #70483
D. McGovern, dmcgovern@compton.edu 

BUS 128, Written Business Communication 
- #70486
D. McGovern, dmcgovern@compton.edu 

Child Development 

CDEV 103, Child Growth and Development - #70627
R. Most, rmost@compton.edu 

CDEV 103, Child Growth and Development - #70628
C. Washington, cwashington@compton.edu 

CDEV 104, The Home, The School and The Community - #70629
P. West, pwest@compton.edu 

CDEV 114, Observing and Assessing Young Children - #70630
R. Most, rmost@compton.edu 

CDEV 130,
 Principles of Program Administration - #70631
S. Gethers, sgethers@compton.edu 

CDEV 150, Introduction to Children with Special Needs - #70632
To be announced

Contemporary Health 

CH 101, Personal and Community Health Issues - #70633
K. Rosario, krosario@compton.edu 

Economics 

ECON 101, Principles of Economics, Microeconomics Theory - # 70514
M. Keskinel, mkeskinel@compton.edu  

English 

ENGL 101, Reading and Composition - #70369
J. Crozier, jcrozier@compton.edu 

ENGL 101, Reading and Composition - #70397

A. Gillis, agillis@compton.edu 

ENGL 101, Reading and Composition - #70398
V. Woodward, vwoodward@compton.edu 

ENGL 101, Reading and Composition - #70400
D. Maruyama, dmaruyama@compton.edu 
 
ENGL 102, Literature and Composition - #70399
S. George, sgeorge@compton.edu

ENGL 103Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition - #70401
S. George, sgeorge@compton.edu 

ENGL 103Adv. Critical Thinking and Composition - #70402
J. HIll, jhill@compton.edu 

Geology 

GEOL 101 Physical Geology -  #70634
M. Okbamicahel, mokbamichael@compton.edu 

History 

HIST 101, United States History to 1877 - #70706
D. Black, dblack@compton.edu 

HIST 101, United States History to 1877 - #70707
R. Murray, rimurray@compton.edu 

HIST 102, U.S.  History, 1877 to the Present - #70708
R. Murray, rimurray@compton.edu 

HIST 102, U.S. History, 1877 to the Present - #70709
K.Radcliffe, kradcliffe@compton.edu 

HIST 102, U.S.  History, 1877 to the Present - #70710
D. Black, dblack@compton.edu 

Human Development 

HDEV 110, Strategies for Creating Success- #70431
J. Phillips, jphillips@compton.edu   

HDEV 110, Strategies for Creating Success- #70432
To be announced

Humanities 

HUMA 101Introduction to the Humanities - #70538
L. Noonan,  lnoonan@compton.edu 

HUMA 101, Introduction to the Humanities - #70539
L. Noonan,  lnoonan@compton.edu 

Medical Terminology

MEDT 101, Medical Terminology - #70635
M. Green, mgreen@compton.edu  

Music 

MUSI 111, Music Appreciation Survey - #70545
M. Uch, much@compton.edu 

Nutrition 

NFOO 110, Nutrition - #70636
J. Gray, jgray@compton.edu 

Physical Education 

PE 277, Introduction to Kinesiology/Physical Ed. - #70637
T. Hazell, thazell@compton.edu 

Physics 

PHYS 111, Descriptive Introduction to Physics - #70638
M. Khan, mkhan@compton.edu 

Political Science 

POLI 101, Governments of the U.S. and CA - # 70561
P. Flor, pflor@compton.edu 
 
POLI 101, Governments of the U.S. and CA, #70562
E. Walker, ewalker@compton.edu 

POLI 102, An Introduction to Comparative Politics - #70563
P. Flor, pflor@compton.edu 

Psychology 

PSYC 116, Lifespan Development - #70641
D. McPatchell, dmcpatchell@compton.edu

PSYC 116, Lifespan Development - #70642
D. McPatchell, dmcpatchell@compton.edu 

PSYC 116, Lifespan Development - #70643
K. Dooley, kdooley@compton.edu 

PSYC 110, African-American Psychology - #70725
J. Phillips, jphillips@compton.edu 

PSYC 101, General Psychology - #70640
F. Moshrefi, fmoshrefi@compton.edu 

PSYC 101, General Psychology - #70639
B. Conn, bconn@compton.edu 

Sociology 

SOCI 101Introduction to Sociology - #70575
N. Williams, niwilliams@compton.edu 

SOCI 101, Introduction to Sociology - #70576
C. Diaz, cdiaz@compton.edu  

SOCI 102, The Family - #70578
T. Truitt, ttruitt@compton.edu 

SOCI 104, Social Issues - #70580
T. Truitt, ttruitt@compton.edu 

HYBRID COURSES

Biology

BIOL 100, Fundamentals of Biology, #70729
K. Marsh, kmarsh@compton.edu
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 9:00 to 12:10pm on Monday.  You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, August  26, 2019 or you may be dropped from the course.

Computer Information System

CIS 113, Introduction to Computer Information System, #70503
A. Yahye, ayahye@compton.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 8:50 to 10:55am on Monday.  You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, August  26, 2019 or you may be dropped from the course.

CIS 113, Introduction to Computer Information System, #70507
A. Yahye, ayahye@compton.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 9:00 to 11:05am on Tuesday.  You must attend the first class meeting on Tuesday, August  27, 2019 or you may be dropped from the course.

CIS 113, Introduction to Computer Information System, #70511
A. Yahye, ayahye@compton.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 3:50 to 5:55 p.m. on Wednesday.  You must attend the first class meeting on Wednesday, August  28, 2019 or you may be dropped from the course.

Mathematics

MATH 150, Elementary Statistics with Probability, #70206
M. Lackpour, mlackpour@compton.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 8:00 to 9:50am on Saturday in room MS 205. You must attend the first class meeting on Saturday, August 24, 2019 or you may be dropped from the course.

MATH 150, Elementary Statistics with Probability, #70207
J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@compton.edu
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 9:00 to 10:50pm on Saturday in room MS 210.  You must attend the first class meeting on Saturday, August 24, 2019 or you may be dropped from the course.

MATH 150, Elementary Statistics with Probability, #70208
J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@compton.edu
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 10:45 to 12:35pm on Wednesday in room TV16.  You must attend the first class meeting on Wednesday, August 28, 2019 or you may be dropped from the course.

MATH 150, Elementary Statistics with Probability, #70209
M. Roeun, mroeun@compton.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 6:00 to 7:50pm on Monday in room MS 210.  You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, August 26, 2019 or you may be dropped from the course.

MATH 73, Intermediate Algebra for General Education, #70193
G. Manikandan, gmanikandan@compton.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 9:30 to 10:35am on Monday and Wednesday in room MS 105.  You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, August 26, 2019 or you may be dropped from the course.

MATH 73, Intermediate Algebra for General Education, #70194
J. Villalobos, jvillalobos@compton.edu  
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 11:30 to 1:40pm on Saturday in room MS 210.  You must attend the first class meeting on Saturday, August 24, 2019 or you may be dropped from the course.

MATH 73,  Intermediate Algebra for General Education, #70195
M. Roeun, mroeun@compton.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 3:00 to 5:10pm on Monday in room MS 208.  You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, August 26, 2019 in MS 208 or you may be dropped from the course.

MATH 80, Intermediate Algebra for Science, Technology and Engineering, #70198
M. Tavakkoli, mtavakkoli@compton.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 8:30 to 10:40am on Saturday in room MS 212.  You must attend the first class meeting on Saturday, August 24, 2019 or you may be dropped from the course.

MATH 80, Intermediate Algebra for Science, Technology and Engineering, #70201
M. Khan, mkhan@compton.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 8:30 to 9:35am on Monday and Wednesday in room MS 212.  You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, August 26, 2019 or you may be dropped from the course.

MATH 80, Intermediate Algebra for Science, Technology and Engineering, #70203
M. Tavakkoli, mtavakkoli@compton.edu 
This is a Distance Education hybrid course that includes both online instruction and weekly on-campus class meeting. The weekly schedule is 5:30 to 7:30pm on Monday in room MS 202.  You must attend the first class meeting on Monday, August 26, 2019 or you may be dropped from the course.

 

  RESOURCES:

  Student Handbook for Distance Education Courses

   Searchable Class Schedule

  Online Bookstore

 CANVAS

  Compton College Canvas Login Instructions

 

CONTACT INFORMATION

Accreditation (ACCJC)

Vocational Technology Building, Office 138
310-900-1600, ext. 2137
If you have a questions, please email us at distance_ed@compton.edu  


Jasmine Phillips
Distance Education Faculty Coordinator
310-900-1600, ext. 2555
jphillips@compton.edu 

Back to top